Time to be you! Being an original Mom on the ASD spectrum. 

One of the more challenging things about being a Mom, much less a Mom of a child on the spectrum is finding time to find your own fashion.I can hear the consortium of groans, or the mumbled excuse of “I just don’t have the time!” already.

 

Ladies, I implore you, you deserve the few extra minutes to feel GREAT about you.

 

It is not that hard.

It is not extra effort.

It does not cost you more or have to be expensive.

 

The return on your effort is priceless, and it benefits everyone!!

 

For any of you that do not know me I am a working Mom of 4 boys ages 6-11. My oldest son had Autism.

We are your typical middle class family. 2 dogs, 2 cats, 4 kids. Mortgage payments, bills. WE live smack dab in suburbia on the outskirts of Toronto.

 

I have a 2 hr commute to my job downtown where parking is $20 a day and lunch is an outing.

We don’t bother trying to keep up with the Jonses because who can afford it? And who wants that anyhow. I’m a simple person, with a flair for anything un-simple when it comes to presenting myself to the world.

 

Fashion is your chance to show the world who you are. People have a ‘personal style’ that speaks for them. Have no style, is still a style and perhaps send the wrong message. Lack of time may convey a message of lack of confidence, lack of interest or lack of creativity…which are just not true!

 

Here are a few easy tips to feel better about you!

 

Make your clothing choices matter.

 

Getting dressed takes the same amount of time regardless of which pants, top and shoes you put on. Take the time them to have clothes that fit well and are interesting and up to date. Try variety in colours, fabrics and patterns.

Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone to try new things. 
Every time you get dressed you can recreate your look!!!

Try asking someone you don’t know about clothes you try on to get a fresh view point or a friend that will be honest. Know your strengths, and compliment yourself when you look nice. Even super models look bad in something’s….know what suits your body. As is!

 

I’m curvy, and big.

I’m not going to lose sleep over being on the high end of the size rack, I’ll simply find clothes that flatter and then ROCK THAT OUTFIT! And I have to tell you, it feels great to feel beautiful in your clothes.

 

Don’t worry about labels or cost, just makes sure the fit is right.

I have a pantsuit that cost me $8 at Walmart that I get complimented on every time I wear it. When I say “Thanks, its Walmart!” I often get “well don’t tell people!!!”

But I happy to. It proves you don’t need to break the bank to look good J

 

Don’t get hung up on a size. Im sometimes 2 sizes bigger or smaller depending on brand. Don’t sweat it. It’s a number and no one is going to care if you look good. Fit is most important.

Don’t wear baggy oversized clothes to mask things you don’t like or wear black to feel slimmer. It doesn’t work. All it does is make you look frumpy and unhappy with you. 

YOU are great! You have nothing to hide.

Pretty colours and prints and well fitted clothing will make you look chic and slimmer than the baggy sweats and “I give up” dresses.

Wear a bright, happy colour and improve your mood. Also see how many compliments you get from others. They enjoy happy as much as you!!

Both of these tops were  inexpensive but regardless of how often I wear I also get compliments on them 🙂

 

Mothers have stretch marks, have not so perfect tummies after carrying children inside them, they have flabby arms and jiggly butts.

If you don’t, good on you!

If you do, Well, you’re like millions of other Moms. We have to let this go. You are not going to be perfect if you sit and pick yourself apart body part by body part.

You are PERFECT just the way you are.

 

Always Do you hair!!!!

 

We have a nation full of beautiful heads of hair that never see the light of day. They are trapped in a scrunchie indefinitely.

A high pony tail sexy- a haphazard pony tail …not so much.

Throw a brush through those golden locks OR consider a was hand go “cut” that is easy to do and looks like effort.

 

My hair cut is not for everyone but I can cut it myself AND it fast in the am. I give myself ½ h to get out the door and I always have hair and make up done.

 

ALWAYS wear mascara and lipstick. 2 mins is all it takes. And gives your face life. J

You can’t feel grumpy when you look pretty!!

 

GET RID OF YOUR GUILT!

 

A lot of parents feel guilty for caring about their appearance and outfits.

 

Your kids look to you when the decide how to be people. Show them you are proud of you and you matter.

We teach them to love themselves and to put their best foot forward. Have FUN with your clothes and be an original. After all, our ASD kids are original and we love them for it!

 

Be a good role model for that. Be you. Not a tired old version of who you used to be.

You deserve it!!

Leave a Reply

