Just a kid -my autistic boy and me.

Motherhood is a million little things you never expect it to be.

When you first find out there is life within you your heart and mind spins as free and wild as the a carnival ride. You smile. Laugh. Nauseate. Grin. Worry. Ponder. Be.

ride

It is a truly unique feeling contemplating the unknown and knowing you are embarking on not only an adventure of a life time but also the most awesome love affair you will ever experience.

The first time you hear that perfect little gasp of breath and cry that split second of time stands still.

new baby

And I always thought that maybe after time or after the arrival of 4 sweet little ones my awe and amazement of being a Mom might just wear off, the sparkle may fade and dull but it hasn’t, and my children touch my heart just as deeply today as they did the first time I held them.

Today, I took a moment to sit and chat with my oldest son Lincoln. His beautiful hazel eyes implored my brown ones searching for a reason for the sit down before I spoke…I like to make sure I get his attention and any excuse to take in his loveliness is always welcome.

3051

As we spoke I marveled in how fluent he has become. The wonderful vocabulary and thought in his questions. I felt a large sense of pride and a calming sense of security for he IS getting there and he’s doing it on his own.

A five minute conversation in the sunny livingroom of our humble little home gave me something priceless today. It gave me the realization that Autism did not drag us down, it only forced us to open our minds and also open our hearts a little wider.

inksplat

April is Autism Awareness month but I think it is prudent to also use it as a reminder that autism is a valuable part of our lives. It offers us a different perspective and it makes our children unique and special. Take the time to support awareness initiatives in your area if you can, the more people who understand this piece of our lives the better.

JIm Morrison put it well: “Expose yourself to your deepest fear; after that, fear has no power, and the fear of freedom shrinks and vanishes. You are free.”

Autism is not a prison. Fear of being different, judged or ridiculed will only overshadow the happiness and blessing you have been bestowed in your child.

My husband Jack has kicked off his 2nd “INK 4 AUTISM” initiative with over 100 tattoo shops participating. Any tattoo enthusiast out there, I encourage you to check out his site for details and participating studios.

https://www.facebook.com/Ink4Autism     facebook

http://www.ink4autism.com/

I’m looking forward to a life time of shared conversations with my boy, it is a privillage of motherhood I value and cherish. I hope you all enjoy the same and take the time to keep it simple. In the busy world of a parent you need to hold steadfast to the things that make you smile and make your heart swell.

HAPPY AUTISM AWARENESS MONTH!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Just a kid -my autistic boy and me.

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be
    greatly appreciated. Kudos

Leave a Reply

