Empowerment and confidence in your ASD kid

A Facebook friend posted this picture the other day and it immediately made me think of Lincoln.

While I was admiring the picture my almost 3 year old came and sat on my lap and said “ohh! Superman!” and I smiled and said “Yup. what do you think?”

“Werwee cool!!”

“I know!” I smiled. “isn’t it?”

I thought of how this little boy was a lot like my little boy. Standing in front of the world so proud of who he is, even though he is standing only in undies and rain boots with a makeshift super cape but feeling, that he could be king of the world – protector of all.

It didn’t matter to this boy that he was standing out, that he was different, and that some were laughing at him. Some of the laughter being that soft chuckle from an elder who finds you sweet and cute. Some from others that cling so desperately to the idea of normalcy that they can’t bear to accept any deviance from the definition, no matter how boring that might be.

It makes me wonder how many people will look at this boy and see confidence and pride and want nothing more than for that feeling to stay with the boy through puberty and teenhood. To when he blossoms into an adult who makes choices in his life and career that may very well effect how others are treated and judged and what freedom they are granted to decide what type of person they wish to be.

I wonder how may people will make a snap decision that he is being whimsical and silly and stomp his imagination into the ground, forcing him back into ‘regular’ and humdrum expectancy of childhood that some parents have.

Some will look at a child with Autism and do just that. Judge. Box. Try to force them into their place, someplace far from sight where things stay ‘comfortable’ and Autism is not their problem. Blind eyes. Ignorance. Oh how soothing it is to some. They will not look at that child in the cape and see what a hero he is.

One thing I hope that more people will see is how brave that child is to stand in his Spiderman boots and underoos and stick his chin up to the world certitude. He is baring himself for the world to see without any skepticism, or doubt. He believe in the good of the world and he believes in himself.

Let you child be proud. Help other see that your child has autism but he isn’t JUST autism.

Remind others that we all have felt uncertain and disquieted and it feels awful. Don’t allow ANY child to be hindered by those feelings, much less a child that may have a hinderance that is out of their control, that they did not ask for nor can they cure. And maybe, they don’t wish to.

Different is beautiful. It gives us innovation, invention and uniqueness that I am so very thankful for. It transcends regular and moves into extraordinary.

Take another look at the photo and don’t be so quick to judge. And while your at it, do the same when you see a child with Autism.

 

4 thoughts on “Empowerment and confidence in your ASD kid

  1. In reading through your blog entries, it occurred to me that you are experiencing more or less the same journey that my parents did with me in the mid-1960’s. I’m one of approximately 20,000 rubella babies born in the US (and 30,000 stillborns) and one of the most common birth defects was deafness. As you can imagine, hearing aid technology in the mid-1960’s was rather crude and that presented a hurdle as far as speech and lipreading therapy was concerned. Like you, my parents had to do a fair bit of navigating to find the resources to help me. They did a great job and I have no doubt that you will!

    • Hi Brian!
      I agree, it would be a very similar struggle. Lincolns E/A has 2 children that are deaf and she mentioned that she had some of the same challenges when raising them. I think that is why she is such an exceptional help to Lincoln. She really understands how important it is to persevere.
      I imagine you know just how rewarding it is to jump those hurdles and I for one and thrilled to know you and how wonderful you turned out (if I do say so myself) and can only hope Lincoln turns out just as well.
      I imagine your parents had an even more difficult time simply due to the fact technology lacked back then. These days there are so many really cool gadgets and aids to help Lincoln and I don’t know too much about how hearing assistance has grown other than my Mom is hearing impaired and wears hearing aids and I KNOW they have come a really long way. She even has a James Bondisque watch that tunes her hearing aid discretely. It is sooooo cool.
      Thanks for sharing!

      • Love and perseverance will surely equip Lincoln to overcome every obstacle. That will give him one huge leg up on life and become like that Superman kid! 🙂

Leave a Reply

