Vid Kid…My autistic child and Super Mario adventures!

So. What kid doesn’t like video games? Hell, what grown up doesn’t like video games??

Well, up until today my son would not play. at 7 and a half I finally convinces him to get in there and be the third pal in Super Mario Wii.

LOVE IT!

Now, to give you a clearer picture my son LIncoln was a self-proclaimed video game watcher…..very enthusiastic in watching others play. He often jumps and giggles and shrieks so much he knocks things off the shelf while we play!!

He has always been very adamant that he will not play.

I wasn’t sure if he had issues with the details of the graphics while processing what he sees or that he is worried about losing or that he isn’t as good as his younger brothers but I finally decided he didn’t have an option and MUST play. (I know, I am going to totally regret this one day and can only blame myself!)

The curiousness of the reluctancy is only increased when I take into consideration he mastered games on the computer by 3 and a half yrs and play intricate games such as “snail Bob” which, I cannot get past level 8 or 9 and he has beaten.

Today I let him know that he cannot be perfect in just one day and it is best to practice on the easier levels until he gets use to jumping, flying and killing this enemies. He seems to agree and will continue to play if I refuse to play for him.

His brothers are accommodating to a certain degree. They urge him to follow along so the screen isn’t stuck and they tell him to jump when they need him to get over one part and SCREAM at him when he is too focused on an interesting flower or penny box…I just had to break up a couch fight when LIncoln who is starting to master the game ran off leaving his brothers stuck to the left of the screen! IT is good they do not cut him any slack, he seems to respond to their urges and enjoy the camaraderie of the sport. They don’t see him as anything more than another vid kid just like them and I am so pleased to see he is calling out to them just like they do to him.

“Get me out of the bubble!! come on!”                    “I’m DYING I’m DYING you dork!”

“Jump that mushroom!”    “get the penny, get the penny!!”          “OH MAN! we died”

 

Imagine how quickly I have a little video eyed content boy with sore thumbs!

For any of you Aspie parents or Aspies themselves out there, I ask you, do you have sensory issues when playing Wii or systems like it opposed to playing on the computer?

I remember Temple Grandin explaining in her book that she would have played video games alllllll day if allowed. I remember in a parenting support group someone stating their kid just LOVED games. I wonder what it is that is so captivating, you know besides the obvious 🙂

I gotta say, if it is Thomas the Tank or Mario, I gotta take Mario. I love that little moustached dude….

 

Happy Saturday everyone! I have to go now, I’m needed to play LEGO rock band 🙂

 

A

6 thoughts on “Vid Kid…My autistic child and Super Mario adventures!

  1. My 6 year old was obsessed with New Super Mario Brothers. After a few weeks, he got real good at it and completed the whole game in about 3 months. He would still be playing now if the baby didn’t scratch up the CD. Oh he used to be so good eating apples and mushrooms because he believed he was Yoshi.

  2. I was also hesitating to buy my son any video games. He is only 5 years old.. but I remember being his age and playing games too.. he has an avid interest in Mario and Luigi so I allow him to play with supervision. My son doesn’t have any sensory issues when using the Wii or the DS, in fact he’s usually quiet when using the DS and a bit active using the Wii.

    I would love to follow you. Feel free to check out our blog.. its about our journey with the educational system. May be of interest to you, including my recent post which talks about effective strategies to use to get support in the classroom. Please check it out, follow and share 🙂
    http://politicsofspecialed.wordpress.com/2012/09/08/strategies/

    • Thanks!

      I love that someone dedicated a whole site to getting E/A support! I have had quite a journey myself with the school system in Durham Region but am very pleased and proud to report that this year and last we had full E/A support and this year I did not have to write a single letter or e-mail to the school board!!! (my nerves are so thankful!!)
      I have a few posts about education and support but have had quite a struggle to get where we are today.
      I have wrote several letters of accolades commending my son’s school for all there fantastic help. They have exceeded my expectations and that is REALLY hard to do!

      We are the best advocate for our children and we definately need to remember our children have the very same rights and just because they will do it differently there is no reason why they won’t get it done. The sky’s the limit!!

      I am going to share, can I add you as a link on my blog?

      • Of course and I feel honoured that you want to add my link on your blog! Thank you! I actually went to DDSB school when I went to high school but have had mostly experience with TDSB. I’m so happy to read that you got support for your child – its so paramount and sad that parents have to beg and write so many letters just to get one. When I attended high school, a lot of children in my class had EA and it seemed like back then you didn’t have to ask.

        I hope to have a chance to sit down in a few days and read through your blog some more. 🙂

      • Of course and I feel honoured that you want to add my link on your blog! Thank you! I actually went to DDSB school when I went to high school but have had mostly experience with TDSB. I’m so happy to read that you got support for your child – its so paramount and sad that parents have to beg and write so many letters just to get one. When I attended high school, a lot of children in my class had EA and it seemed like back then you didn’t have to ask.

        I hope to have a chance to sit down in a few days and read through your blog some more. 🙂 Thank you for the follow!!

Leave a Reply

